Top 5 Wednesday: Rainy Days Reads

I’m going to participate in some of the Top 5 Wednesdays which are created by Lainey and moderated by Sam. So this week’s top 5 is books you would enjoy curling up to on a rainy day. To me these books are usually shorter books that one can read in one day and books that will transport you somewhere else either in feel or atmosphere.

Here are mine!

Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski (review) – I think this is perfect for a rainy day because it’s addicting, it’s atmospheric, there’s an element of fantasy and it’s dark and rather gloomy like most rainy days are.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (review) – this book is rather mystical and lyrical and only 200 pages which pack a full and beautiful story. It’s set during lazy summer days and there’s lots of water involved and I think it’s rather perfect to sit down and just read it as the world drowns outside.

City of Thieves by David Benioff (review) – the reason I think this is a perfect rainy day reads is because you really submerge yourself in Russian WWII history in the middle of winter which is perfect for when you’re wanting to be cozy. It’s not very long and it really transports you to this time and it’s both amusing and horrifying. Great read.

Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel – This is one of my very favorite books ever and it’s because this story has stuck with me for such a long time. I read it when I was a junior in High School and I can still recall scenes and characters that were perfectly presented. This to me is the rare time that magical realism is done right.

Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover (review) – This book is one of those that you start and are unable to put down. Essentially it’s a love story and who doesn’t love a well written romance book? Yet it’s so well crafted and tugs at such strings that will embrace you with Hoover’s perfect portrayal of not-so-perfect love story.

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Rainy Days Reads

Leave a comment