Book Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

IMG_1839

Title: Ugly Love
Author: Colleen Hoover
Published: 2014
Genre: New Adult Contemporary

Synopsis: When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her:  Never ask about the past. Don’t expect a future.

My Rating: Red-StarRed-StarRed-StarRed-StarRed-Star

This is a very simple book, at least it seems very simple. It is a story of what is supposed to be fuck-buddies but turns into something complex, rich and deep. Exactly how did it happen, I’m not sure but I’m certain Ms. Hoover’s writing has EVERYTHING to do with it. She crafted a story our of smut that was so beautiful and truly heart-wrenching that it caught me completely by surprise. You know how you pick up some books thinking this is nice, a quick fluffy read, I can handle this on this crazy Monday. That’s exactly what I did and it was foolish of me to do so because I tell you, I have not cried the way I cried in this book for a LONG time. Heaving sobs of snot poured out of me as I read the last 75 or so pages. This book is a beautiful emotional roller coaster. It makes you feel for these characters despite their choices and behaviors, you just feel for them and it messed me up. I could not stop thinking about this book, to the point that I had purchased it as an ebook (because fluffy read, remember?) and before I  finished it, I had already ordered the physical copy of it because I needed to shove this book in people’s faces and force them to read.

In short, Ugly Crying Love is New Adult perfection. Go. Read. It. Alone.

One thought on “Book Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

