Graphic Novels: Morning Glories Vol. 1 & 2 by Nick Spencer

Title: Morning Glories Vol 1 & Vol 2
Author: Nick Spencer
Published: 2011
Genre: Graphic Novel – Fantasy

Synopsis: Morning Glory Academy.  One of the most prestigious prep schools in the country…But behind it’s hallowed doors something sinister and deadly lurks. When six brilliant but troubled new students arrive, they find themselves trapped and desperately seeking answers…and escape from a place where nothing is what it seems to be!

My Rating: 8igbk4dbt8igbk4dbt8igbk4dbt

It was a Friday afternoon, I was tired and I wanted to read something fun and I borrowed this from the library. I read through 2 volumes that night and I enjoyed it. Three stars means it was good, it was OK, it could’ve certainly been better.

The story starts in this bizarre school where certain ‘gifted’ individuals are chosen to go, they are all drugged on their ride to the school and wake up upon arrival. Instantly shit goes to the bad side as when they try to contact their parents, their parents do not recognize them and claim never to had children. Our main character tries to flee but is shown a secret room where her parents have been tortured and killed. The group sorta bands together but really doesn’t, it has a weird Gossip Girl – meets Battle Royale feel. Stories are never linear, we meet the characters in the present, in the past and in the future. Oh and there’s killer ghosts, strange sci-fi machines, time travel and anything else you can throw in.

I loved the art and I was enjoying the story until I realized that this series was going to give very little back in terms of answers and I am the sort of reader that gets annoyed at being strung along by presented ‘shock value’ scenes that are meant to be page turners. To me page turners are revelations and to see how the character will handle said revelation.

The questions pile up and by Vol 2 none of the questions presented in Vol 1 where answered on the contrary, there’s even more questions. I have downloaded Vol 3 – I will give this another shot to see if I’m willing to go down this rabbit hole. I am hoping that the writer provides us with some explanations and reveals so I shall come back and report. 🙂

One thought on “Graphic Novels: Morning Glories Vol. 1 & 2 by Nick Spencer

Leave a Reply

