Book Review: Anne of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery

Title: Anne of Avonlea
Author: L.M. Montgomery
Published: 1909
Genre: Young Adult – Classics

Summary: At sixteen, Anne is grown up…almost. Her gray eyes shine like evening stars, but her red hair is still as peppery as her temper. In the years since she arrived at Green Gables as a freckle-faced orphan, she has earned the love of the people of Avonlea and a reputation for getting into scrapes. But when Anne begins her job as the new schoolteacher, the real test of her character begins. Along with teaching the three Rs, she is learning how complicated life can be when she meddles in someone else’s romance, finds two new orphans at Green Gables, and wonders about the strange behaviour of the very handsome Gilbert Blythe. As Anne enters womanhood, her adventures touch the heart and the funny bone.

My Rating: 8igbk4dbt8igbk4dbt8igbk4dbt

This entire read of the second book of Anne of Green Gables came after I watched the Netflix show Anne with an E, I felt I needed the original world of Montgomery. I had read book 1 about 7 years ago and I decided to go for the next one in the series. In this second book we find Anne who is now a year old than before and we follow her adventures as the new teacher at the Avonlea school. She’s had to place her dream of college to the side to stay home and help Marilla with the house that that Matthew is gone.

Honestly I was not that crazy about this one. I felt that the book was rather infantile and bland and bordering on vanilla. All conflicts are splendidly solved, everyone gets along and everything remains rosy at Avonlea. Now… I think that is the point of the novel so it was my own fault for expecting something other than what it is. This is a sweet and well-loved classic that pulls at the strings of those reminiscing on a simpler, wholesome time.

Had I been younger, perhaps a young teen, I would have really loved this because it fits the bill. However, I wanted something more from the reading and since I did not read this as a child nostalgia could not account for my sentiments towards it. It is a nice book, a lovely book (never mind that the children in this book are utterly horrible especially Davy whom I wanted to murder) but overall it is something that I have little to no emotional connection to.

Leave a Reply

