Books Review: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

Title: Kindred Spirits
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Published: 2016
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Synopsis: If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels.

Rating: red-starred-starred-star

A sweet, endearing story of Elena, a super fan of Star Wars who sets out to camp before The Force Awakens comes out. Elena then meets two other fans and this is the story of the 4 days they spend on the line.

This has Rainbow Rowell all over it and the truth is that I really enjoy Rowell’s YA contemporary, I think she excels giving us realistic characters that are encumbered with day to day activities and still feel interesting. I do feel that this would have made a great longer story, more fleshed out, more digging into Elena’s feelings towards her father and more about Gabe. That’s the reason I gave this 3 stars because I feel that short stories are just not for me, I want more and I felt like Rowell didn’t give us enough.

Now, if you enjoy short stories this might be the one for you but for me personally I just felt like I barely glanced at the characters and didn’t take anything away with me. This was a great read because I was feeling really slumpy and this was the perfect medicine.

Leave a Reply

