Book Review: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Title: Pride and Prejudice
Author: Jane Austen
Published: 1813
Genre: Classic Fiction

Synopsis: When Elizabeth Bennet meets Mr. Darcy she is repelled by his overbearing pride, and prejudice towards her family. But the Bennet girls are in need of financial security in the shape of husbands, so when Darcy’s friend, the affable Mr. Bingley, forms an attachment to Jane, Darcy becomes increasingly hard to avoid. Polite society will be turned upside down in this witty drama of friendship, rivalry, and love—Jane Austen’s classic romance novel.

My Rating: 8igbk4dbt8igbk4dbt8igbk4dbt8igbk4dbt8igbk4dbt

It is a silly thing to believe that until this year I had yet to read Pride and Prejudice. Never mind that I had watched the 1995 miniseries (the most faithful of the adaptations) a countless amount of times, never mind that I had also watched all adaptations and read some re-imaginings. Never mind all that I had yet to read the original work. I have to say that I was as captivated as I should have been. I loved each character, each moment and each bit of it. It now rests, rightfully so, under my favorite books, one I shall not mind rereading in the future.

Did I find any new information? Should one read the original source if one is intimate with the story? I think yes. I think there’s a few differences, that truly do not change the story much but it is still good to read Austen as she wrote it. Needless to say this has encouraged me to read the rest of her works, the second favorite of the stories is Emma and I shall go from there.

I will mention on one point something which I thought the miniseries had added, in the book you do get Mr. Darcy’s perspective if only ever slight but you know the moment he feels for Eliza and how he starts seeing her differently which I really liked to discover. Also, Lydia and Mrs. Bennett are as abominable as ever, they are ever the caricature of what can happen to women in such a society.

Leave a Reply

