Top 5 Wednesday: Authors You Want to Read More From

1. Donna Tartt – I need to get to The Goldfinch and The Little Friend but she’s an author I have to be in the mood for because her books are inherently slow and longgg.

2. Margaret Atwood – I just finished The Handmaid’s Tale and her writing is fantastic, very approachable and very feminist.

3. Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – I read her essay We Should All Be Feminist and I really really want to read her actual novels. I am hoping I get to Purple Hibiscus in 2017.

4. James Baldwin – I have never forgotten The Fire Next Time and I really really need to read more of this work, his fiction specifically. Another Country is one I really want to get to sometime in 2017.

5. Brandon Sanderson – I really need to read Mistborn, I have it, it’s waiting for me but I haven’t had the time. I really enjoyed The Rithmatist, it was such a fast-paced good story, very engaging so I’m hoping I feel the same about the rest of his fantasy.

6. Julia Alvarez – I can’t just choose five, fuck that. I read In the Name of Salome last year, you all know it was one of my top 10 books of the year. I own 2 of her books and I really want to get to them because she’s fantastic.

18 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Authors You Want to Read More From

  1. Yay for The Rithmatist! That’s my favorite YA book by him so far (I’m dying for that sequel). Mistborn is worth all the hype that people give it. They may be larger books, but it’s truly amazing. I do recommend the audio books to help it go by faster if you’re intimidated to read the physical books πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Margaret Atwood and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie;s books! I haven’t read anything by the other authors you mentioned, but maybe I’ll go check them out πŸ™‚ I am always looking for more ‘contemporary adult’ books that I enjoy reading as I tend to read within the Fantasy and Young Adult genres.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tartt!!!!!! I just finished The Little Friend and now, already having read The Secret History and The Goldfinch I find myself walking through the aisles of my favorite bookstore and… I just can’t seem to wrap around the sad truth that there is only 3 works so far by Tartt and until she comes out with another masterpiece, no other book seems to really compare!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

