Book Review: The Search for WondLa by Tony Diterlizzi

Title: The Search for WondLa
Author: Tony DiTerlizzi
Published: 2009
Genre: Middle Grade Science Fiction

Synopsis: When a marauder destroys the underground sanctuary that Eva Nine was raised in by the robot Muthr, the twelve-year-year-old girl is forced to flee aboveground. Eva Nine is searching for anyone else like her: She knows that other humans exist because of an item she treasures—a scrap of cardboard on which is depicted a young girl, an adult, and a robot, with the strange word, “WondLa.”

My Rating: red-starred-starred-star (I guess)

I am sad to say that I am so un-enthused for this series. I went in with high hopes but instead I felt very disconnected from the characters and plot and it felt very juvenile. I know it’s strange to say that a middle grade novel felt juvenile but usually the reasons middle grade is very readable is because of the well crafted adults and carefully plotted adult themes. I was very aware while reading it that I was reading a children’s book and I was left feeling like it was OK. Now, if this book is read by a younger reader I think they would LOVE it and to tell you the truth this might be a store I’d love far more as a TV show or movie than a book.

The main component of this book that gives it the whole 3 stars are the drawings. The drawings are fantastic, whimsical but imaginative and they anchor the bizarre world we’re being described. I absolutely loved them.

Who do I see enjoying this? Teens, pre-teens, etc. I think it’s a great book for younger readers and I’m actually going to give my copies to a teen I know that would love this. This is my first DiTerlizzi book but I’m not sure his writing is for me since he focuses on middle grade but without doubt the imagination behind the books is fantastic and admirable.

 

 

Leave a Reply

