Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Felt Betrayed By

Betrayed is a strong word to feel towards a book but I understand the general sentiment. I suppose the ones who betray us the most are the ones we expected something from. Usually this for me is a victim of over-hyping or a series.

So here are my Top 5 6 books that have betrayed me.

  1. The Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen – That ending. After 2 such awesome books we get to that endings and I’m just… not OK with it. Not OK at all. This was without doubt one of the worst betrayals ever.
  2. The School for Good vs Evil by Soman Chainani – Book 1 was FANTASTIC, book 2 was very good, book 3 was a parody of its predecessors.
  3. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – the solid writing matched with the fantastic mythology, the great plot was crumbled under the weight of an insta-love of epic proportions. Absolutely ruined the series for me.
  4. Night Film by Marisha Pessl – I was the group of people who enjoyed the story… until that very end which left me so annoyed.
  5. Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristof – this was the biggest smack in the face book, especially after the perfection of Illuminae, this was its poor, illegitimate brother.
5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books You Felt Betrayed By

  1. Have you read the rest of Laini Taylor’s trilogy? The love story is almost nonexistent in the second one and many great moments. I wasn’t a huge fan of the love story either, but I love how she portrays war, a great fantasy world and such. I’ve been hearing negative things about the ending of the Tearling trilogy and I don’t think I’ll read the last two. Doesn’t seem worth it to read two books, then be disappointed by the finale…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I read Book 2 of Daughter of Smoke and Bone and I was not a fan at all. I owned the entire trilogy but I gifted it to a younger reader to see if they would like it 🙂 Regarding Queen of the Tearling I wish I would’ve stayed in Book 1, I think it ends in a good place. Book 2 I also enjoyed but there’s too much promise that never goes through so it was frustrating.

      Like

Leave a Reply

