Book Review: Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Title: Every Heart a Doorway
Author: Seanan McGuire
Published: 2016
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Synopsis: Children have always disappeared under the right conditions; slipping through the shadows under a bed or at the back of a wardrobe, tumbling down rabbit holes and into old wells, and emerging somewhere… else. But magical lands have little need for used-up miracle children. Nancy tumbled once, but now she’s back. The things she’s experienced… they change a person. The children under Miss West’s care understand all too well. And each of them is seeking a way back to their own fantasy world. But Nancy’s arrival marks a change at the Home. There’s a darkness just around each corner, and when tragedy strikes, it’s up to Nancy and her new-found schoolmates to get to the heart of the matter.

My Rating: 8igbk4dbt8igbk4dbt

Overall, this is a 2 star for me in the goodreads sense of the word. “It was OK.” The main issue I had with this book is how underdeveloped it is. I feel like I very much read the skeleton for a novel that the author was still working on and adding 100 more pages (at least!) to this work. We have a lot of characters for such a short book and a lot of it reads very YA tropey. So our main character, Nancy, just came from the underworld, she joins the school with a bunch of children who have also traveled to a lot of worlds and are now stuck in the real world. There is magic here but it’s not tangible, you don’t really know if it happens really or do they have some sort of a psychosis. The magic could be in their heads or the magic could be real.

I had problems with the main character; I felt she lacked… a lot. So we know she’s asexual and we know that she’s having problems coping with the real world – all of that was great. However, in terms of character (because asexuality, like homosexuality, is not a personality trait) she’s very ordinary, there’s no wit, there’s no ‘let me root for her’ factor. There’s no bravado and the story could have literally done without her so… I’m at a loss. I dragged on this book so much because there was such little connection. The rest of the characters fared little better than the ‘twist’ was wrapped up so neatly it was incredibly anticlimactic.

I’ve mentioned before on this blog how I feel that many books are over hyped; I think many of us have fallen victims of overhyping a book. I think that this might be amazing to someone who has only read mediocre YA because it does attempt to change its direction into something different and with depth but for me it felt short and as I whole, the book was forgettable.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

  1. Thanks for the honest review. I have seen this book around but I wasn’t too keen on it. Sad to hear that it didn’t quite work out for you but I can definitely understand why especially with the characterization issue.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s very short, the concept of the story is unique and has loads of promise. I did find the character of the caretaker the most compelling, more than the children. I do not, however think for a second that it’s the best books I’ve read all year, this doesn’t even make a list

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

