Top 10 Books to Read in 2017

I will be studying every semester of 2017 so my goal for 2017 will be 40-50 books. As long as I’m in that bracket I will be happy. So what do I want to read most that are NOT in a series? Here we go!

2088385
The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill
I want to really read this fiction biopic for Black History Month and having read the first chapter I think I’m going to love Hill’s writing.

25614934
Arcadia by Iain Pears
One with mixed reviews which I was originally STOKED to read but that want waned and now I own it and want to form my own opinion. Let us see…

334176
The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell
I wanted to read this one so bad last Summer but I never got to it so I’m looking forward finally picking up this sci-fi literary fiction.

51964
Old Man’s War by John Scalzi
I’ve said it before in this blog but I am just dying to start Scalzi’s work and the premise of this book is so interesting to me.

31241
David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
My Eleanor, this book has been in my ‘to read’ shelf since I was a teenager and I decided that this year I need to stop being worried about reading Dickens and just fucking read David Copperfield!

29044
The Secret History by Donna Tartt
The entire premise of secret societies is one of my absolute favorite and I am so excited about this, it’s a bit long but again so are most books in this list!

11925514
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
My one young adult in this list, this is WW2 historical fiction filled with lady-friendships from what I understand. I am very excited to read this!

38447
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
I’ve never read Atwood which is disgraceful! I need to remedy this ASAP and so I picked up her most famous novel, we shall see how I enjoy it.

18465852
The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez
Immigration and America – massive topic which I would like to read about.

334170
Another Country by James Baldwin
I have adored Baldwin’s work in the past and I bought this one because I think it’s high-time that I work my way through his anthology.

Leave a Reply

