December 2017 Wrap Up and Currently Reading!

This was a month that I thought I would knock out like 10 books but I was so incredibly busy that this never happened. Instead I completed 4 books, started 3 more and DNFed 1 book. I did catch up on some movies which for me signify the Holiday season.

To circle back, I finished the year having read 120 books in 2016 which is INCREDIBLE, I can scarcely believe it! For 2017 my goal is 50 books as I will be busy with school work 🙂

Here are my 4 completed books:

  • Nimona by Noelle Stevenson red-starred-starred-starred-star
  • Dracula by Bram Stoker red-starred-starred-starred-star
  • My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins red-starred-starred-star
  • Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda red-starred-starred-starred-star

So most great, 3  four star reviews with Simon VS the Homo Sapiens Agenda becoming an easy favorite of the month and my least favored being My True Gave to Me but it was not a bad experience.

I did DNFed a pretty popular book – An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir, I’m not saying it’s not a good book but more of an I’m tired of reading this same stuff with weak main characters type of book. I really could not handle the female protagonists’ POV, the excessive use of pointless metaphors and her being cowardly as a stated trait made it so hard for me to want to pick it up. So I read to 50% of the book and I finally gave up.

27774758

Then I started 3 books in December all of which I’m still CURRENTLY READING, I’m obsessed with Sarra Manning’s contemporary romance, I’ve been slow on the final Tearling book but I’m hitting it hardcore this weekend and I’m surprisingly NOT really enjoying The Long Way to a Small Planet but I’m going to try to push through because I’m nearly 50% in.

7 thoughts on “December 2017 Wrap Up and Currently Reading!

  1. I’m sad to hear you weren’t enjoying An Ember in the Ashes. It’s one of my all-time favorite books. But I see why you didn’t like it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

