Series I want to read in 2017

Happy New Years EVERYONE! I hope you did exactly what you wanted for the Holidays and can we all take a breather from 2016 because it was a fucking brutal year.

Series will not be a priority for me this year. I did a lot of series last year and the truth is that I’m a bit tired of them because I often find myself bored. However, there are a few which I already own which I want to give a try. All of them are fantasy so I guess it makes sense since series belong best to speculative fiction.

The Mistborn Series by Brandon Sanderson
I’ve read Sanderson before I want to kick off the new year by starting this series, maybe in January/February and I’m really looking forward to it!

The Falling Kingdom Series by Morgan Rhodes
I own the first 3 books which makes me extremely nervous as many people have given these mixed reviews. I’m going in with an open mind because firstly – I’ve never read Game of Thrones which is what this is often compared to so the similarities will not bother me and secondly, I need baby-steps to high fantasy so this might work well for me.

His Dark Materials Trilogy by Phillip Pullman
This will be a reread for me and I look forward to going back into this world that I loved so much in the past. I have long considered this trilogy favorite middle-grade/YA trilogy and I want to see if I still feel the same. I read the entire series in 2007 so it’s been exactly 10 years since I last read them. High time for a reread!

The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Ruthfuss
This will most likely be towards the end of the year, once I’m more comfortable with high fantasy but overall, I’m really looking forward to this series!

The Search for WondLa Trilogy by Tony DiTerlizzi
I have all of these in audio book and I think I’m going to really enjoy them. Middle grade fantasy is always such a wonderful world to embark in that I cannot wait for this, it might be my first audio once I finish Harry Potter πŸ™‚

 

Let me know if you’ve read any of these or if you’d also like to read them!

 

3 thoughts on “Series I want to read in 2017

Leave a Reply

