Top 10 FAVORITE Books of the Year!

I have been steadily thinking about this, to narrow down my thoughts. Some books are in series and one book stood out and other books are stand-alone but overall, these are my favorites which I shall reread in the future! I have also stressed myself into anxiety placing these in order! ACK!

  1. 27827627
    Uprooted by Naomi Novik is without doubt, my favorite book of the year and I said it when I finished it and still not one has been able to knock it down. This is adult and dense and I can see how many people would not love it but I absolutely ADORED this story and I cannot wait to reread it in the future. It’s funny because when I started it, I was so un-enthused by it until like chapter 4 and I was HOOKED.
  2. 23395680
    Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff was the favorite book of the year contender for 5 months until Uprooted came alone but still, I adore this book. I remember clearly reading it and going through all of the motions because holy emotional roller coaster. It also has one of my favorite characters of the year – AIDAN! This book is part of a series but can be read as a stand-alone. I actually recommend it as a stand-alone.
  3. 20821614
    You by Caroline Kepnes. If there’s a book which I still think about despite the months that have passed, it’s this one. The farther I got from having read it, the more I appreciated what Kepnes did with her character of Joe. He’s not for everyone, I can see many people getting the true creep factor and being unable to read it but I truly loved it and for me it was a great, crazy CRAZY book.
  4. {42E64203-B28E-43D1-9BAE-78C875537B1D}Img100
    The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen is the perfect start to a series but this particular book is when Queen Kelsea is both vulnerable and also coming into her own. I think I can safely say that Kelsea is my favorite female character of the year, bar none.
  5. 23282006
    Why God is a Woman by Nin Andrews is a poetry collection which I read earlier and still like to go back and re-read parts of it because it’s so craftily written. Prose style and the flipping of the social construct of gender make this a true favorite for me.
  6. 2
    Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix was a rediscovery for me, a book which I did not appreciate when I was younger and one that definitely surprised me. The grittiness of this book, the angst, the explanations – a cacophony of delight.
  7. 20820994
    I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson is YA Contemporary at its best! Told in dual perspective with magical realism and a literary tone, this book is so wonderful. It touches you as the layers of the story are exposed. I knew as I was reading it that it would be a favorite yet I let a friend borrow it and she did not like it so there must have been something in the writing or the story that really drew me in.
  8. 18293427
    The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin – a book about books is always a good contender but in this short book Zevin manages to make you fall in love with the idea of stories and of living your life surrounded by books. I cried and I loved it.
  9. 16143347
    We Were Liars by E. Lockhart is a story told by a very unreliable narrator and filled with magic realism. It will not be everyone’s cup of tea but for me, it hit all the right marks and I absolutely loved every inch of this dysfunctional family.
  10. 11210
    In the Name of Salome by Julia Alvarez was something I had to read for class and man am I glad we did because this story was absolutely touching especially to me which I could identify so many things relevant to my own life. The dual story of a mother and daughter set in the Caribbean filled with poetry, revolution and self discovery was fantastic.

 

Runner Ups!

 

SHARE YOUR FAVORITES THIS YEAR!

2 thoughts on “Top 10 FAVORITE Books of the Year!

  1. I read “The Storied Life of AJ Fikry,” too! So good! I discovered Laura McHugh this year…her 2014 debut “The Weight of Blood” and her August release, “Arrowood,” were probably my favorite reads of 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

