Book Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

Title: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Author: J.K. Rowling
Published: 2003
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Synopsis: There is a door at the end of a silent corridor. And it’s haunting Harry Potter’s dreams. Why else would he be waking in the middle of the night, screaming in terror?
Here are just a few things on Harry’s mind:
• A Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher with a personality like poisoned honey
• A venomous, disgruntled house-elf
• Ron as keeper of the Gryffindor Quidditch team
• The looming terror of the end-of-term Ordinary Wizarding Level exams
…and of course, the growing threat of He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. In the richest installment yet of J. K. Rowling’s seven-part story, Harry Potter is faced with the unreliability of the very government of the magical world and the impotence of the authorities at Hogwarts.

My Rating: red-starred-starred-starred-starred-star

Last time I read The Order of the Phoenix was in 2003, when it was released and quite honestly I was so let down from having had to wait 3 years for its release. I had certain hopes (perpetuated possibly by fanfiction) that when none of it happened I refused to read the book again.

Fast forward to now, 2016, and I finally decided to reread it, to face what I had once considered my least favorite of the HP books and I find myself absolutely loving this book. I had forgotten how much explanations we have in this book, especially those final chapters. I had forgotten how much Ginny is in this book and how awesome Professor McGonagall is, she’s such a fucking badass. This has been utterly enchanting rereading this as an adult, seeing Sirius as a man-child that he is, getting frustrated by Harry’s teen-angst and enjoying the adult-themes between the staff of the school. One thing I never forgot was how horrible Umbridge is. Now, we just spoke about villains last week but I have to say that the most horrible person in the Harry Potter books is Dolores Umbridge. She’s so sadistically horrible that I wish JK had shown a bit more of her torturous time in the forest. Yes, I hate her more than Voldermort.

Overall – brilliant 5 stars and it’s easily moved to my top 3 books of the series which is hard considering the last 2 books are some of my faves also so I just don’t know how to even number these.

 

One thought on “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

Leave a Reply

