Graphic Novel Review: I Hate Fairyland, Volume 1: Madly Ever After by Skottie Young

Title: I Hate Fairyland Vol. 1
Author & Artist: Skottie Young
Published: 2016
Genre: Adult Graphic Novel – Fantasy

Synopsis: An Adventure Time/Alice in Wonderland-style epic that smashes its cute little face against grown-up, Tank Girl/Deadpool-esque violent madness. Follow Gert, a forty year old woman stuck in a six year old’s body who has been trapped in the magical world of Fairyland for nearly thirty years. Join her and her giant battle-axe on a delightfully blood-soaked journey to see who will survive the girl who HATES FAIRYLAND.

My Rating: red-starred-starred-star

I decided to pick this up after hearing about it on youtube, it seemed angry enough and a nice palette cleanser. I gave this a 3 star but it’s a good sort of 3 star meaning I enjoyed it. It wasn’t bad, actually good stuff from this beautifully done graphic novel following a little girl who gets trapped in Fairyland for 30 years. She maintains the body of a child but inside she’s a cynical, psychopathic, swearing and angry. I loved the world-building, I enjoyed the coloring, so overall – I thought this was a great volume 2 and based on that ending I’m guessing it’s going to get better from here on out.

I recommend this if you enjoyed The School for Good and Evil, Rat Queens and Saga.

 

One thought on “Graphic Novel Review: I Hate Fairyland, Volume 1: Madly Ever After by Skottie Young

Leave a Reply

