DNFed Books July-Now.

It seems to be the season of DNF’ing because since July I have DNF’ed 8 books. I used to do a full review if I got over 50% in but I decided to just summarize it here. I really don’t mind DNF’ing books, the same way I don’t mind not reading my TBR because honestly reading should never be about guilt or duty.

IMG_2783 Red Rising by Piece Brown – I started this book in August but it soon became obvious that I had little interest in the subject. I thought this would be a sci-fi book but instead it’s a grown up Hunger Games and I put it aside for later. When I picked it up again, I read 60 pages before realizing I didn’t care about any of the characters and perhaps it was better to pass it along to someone else.

IMG_2782 Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye – Bored, I was so bored despite an interesting story line. I made it 30%, which is usually when I know if I would enjoy the book or not and I let it go. This Jane Eyre retelling was just not for me.

IMG_2842 This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp – I knew I wasn’t going to like these characters about 15% in the book, I made it to 20% in and finally gave up. I have so much to read and I think this failed to have that enchanting captivating language that would made a book like this poetic.

IMG_2845 Underground Airlines by Ben H. Winter – an alternative universe where the Civil War never happened in America and a black bounty hunter in current era hunts down a runaway slave? Yes, please sign me up! I have not totally given up on this one but I made it to about 20% and it just failed to capture my attention. It was more literary than I expected and I think that I envisioned something a lot more plot driven since the plot was more interesting than the characters.

IMG_2784 The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild – Perhaps this was a case of picking up the right book at the wrong time because I really enjoyed the first chapter but then it say on my nightstand for 3 weeks and I never felt the need to pick up back up. Perhaps another time.

IMG_2648 Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes – I have a hard time with thrillers because they spend so much of the first few chapters setting plot up that I loose interest. I still am holding on to this one, I want to read it because the plot sounds insane and how pretty is this cover? So maybe next year…

img_0172 We All Looked Up by Tommy Wallach – I got to nearly 45% of this one before I realized I was forcing myself to read and that is something I absolutely hate. The teens in this book were both insufferable and frustrating. Plainly said, they were underdeveloped.

img_2470 My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick – I’m way too old, brown and poor to appreciate this. I’ll leave it at that. 52% in and I was like ‘oh shut up!’

 

Leave a Reply

