Graphic Novel Review: Alex + Ada Vol.2 by Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn

Title: Alex + Ada Vol. 2
Author: Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn
Published: 2015
Genre: Graphic Novel

Synopsis: Tensions rise between humans and robots in this sci-fi/drama set in the near future. Alex took a huge risk to unlock Ada and it seems to have paid off – Ada can now think for herself and explore life as a sentient android. As Alex and Ada spend more time together, they become closer. But as restrictions tighten on androids, Ada feels unsure about her place in Alex’s life and the world.

My Rating: red-starred-starred-star 1/2

This is like a mini-review because I don’t really have much thoughts about this one. I decided to pick this because I was slumping bad and despite not really shaking me out of my slump, it was a quick enough read. I enjoyed volume 2 of this series a bit more than the first one but I am still not in love with this story. I will finish it because there are only 3 volumes but overall the best part of this is the politics and social aspect of the plot. In Volume 2, Ada is now fully sentient and we see how that affects not only her but her relationship with her owner, Alex. This volume is about Ada being conflicted as to where she fits in, her feelings towards Alex and struggling to be independent in a world that is petrified of her. Alex meanwhile is struggling with the fact that he has feelings towards a robot. Which is completely understandable but that is honestly the only conflict he has. I am really not here for this ‘love-story’ and it might have to do with the art, the art continues to be weird and not as aesthetically pleasing as Rat Queens or Saga. There was a lot more politics and social questions in this one and I enjoyed that aspect. I also think I enjoy the side characters of this series more than the main characters, especially the other robots.

2 thoughts on “Graphic Novel Review: Alex + Ada Vol.2 by Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn

Leave a Reply

