Books to Read Before the Year is Out

It suddenly hit me this morning, I’ve run out of time to read! I start school Aug 22nd after being done with it for the past 10 years so I’m officially panicked that a lot of books on my shelf will have to wait until next year! Here is my list of books that I MUST get to before the year is out – I’m not including books that have not come out yet or books that I don’t physically own. These are books patiently waiting on the shelf for me to finally pick them up and I admit that over half of these I’ve put off because of size which is my own damn fault.

11/22/63 by Stephen King – this will be my first venture into Stephen King, believe it or not and the premise of this sounds interesting so I’m hoping I enjoy it so I can slowly work my way through his anthology.

A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James – a book I have placed in my TBR list and never gotten to it, this is a must for me.

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – one I thought I wont get right on it but time has come and gone and this one has not moved on my shelf mostly because I’m afraid it will gut me.

The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill– after reading the first chapter I was entranced but this is another one that I always hesitate because of the size.

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss – this is one that I’m purposelessly waiting until Nov/December because I know I’m going to want to pick up the sequel right away and I just don’t have space in my TBR.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – a book that everyone has read except for me, I hesitate because like Me Before You I always hesitate towards books I know will make me cry.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir – I think this has been so highly praised and I’m pretty afraid that it will disappointment like many YA Fantasy have.

Girl at War by Sarah Novic – a more recent acquisition that I’m pretty excited to read tho I know nothing much of it, just like I like it.

The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell – I grabbed this after read The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber. I watched David Yoon’s review and he mentioned that he felt he wanted more after reading Faber’s story which I agreed with and he recommended The Sparrow as it’s more satisfying. So I’m excited to get to it.

Arcadia by Iain Pears – this book has been compared to His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman which if you don’t know if my favorite trilogy of all time, I love it so much. So I’ve either read AMAZING things or disappointing things. Now, this is a new acquisition also but I’m still a bit afraid that I will dislike it.

 

Leave a Reply

