Graphic Novel Review: Alex + Ada by Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn

Title: Alex + Ada Vol. 1
Author: Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn
Published: 2014
Genre: Graphic Novel

Synopsis: The last thing in the world Alex wanted was an X5, the latest in realistic androids. But after Ada is dropped into his life, he discovers she is more than just a robot.

My Rating: red-starred-starred-star

I picked this one because I’ve heard fairly positive reviews on it and they were right one point. This is a good graphic novel with average art and a solid story. Our story centers around Alex, an incredibly lonely professional, who robotically lives his lives despite being very human. There’s a definite sense of loneliness in this novel, the art is purposefully alienating and you can see where he reaches out to anything and anyone.

Alex’s rich grandma gets him Ada, a fully functioning cyborg and unlike the cyborgs found in the Lunar Chronicles, which were simply humans with mechanical parts much the way a wounded soldier might get a high-tech leg. The cyborgs in this world are machine-made with artificial intelligence and some of them have become sentient. The story takes off from there as the plot reveals itself as Alex finds himself connecting to Ada. It gave me the same creep factors as that movie Lars and the Real Girl.

Honestly, I’m not sure if this one is for me and I feel like I’m saying that of a lot of graphic novels lately. However this one is only 3 volumes and I think I will finish the series despite not being overall intrigued with the premise. I think it’s OK. Points for originality and nice flow of the story plus the true sense of loneliness they were able to capture.

Leave a Reply

