The Big Book Tag!

And now to bring out one hell of an old tag that I have not done! This tag was created by OneBookOneReader at Youtube. It’s very simple:

1. Pick out the 5 biggest books you have read from your shelves.
2. Pick out 2 of the biggest books you have not read from your shelves.

My shelves do not have 3 of the largest books I’ve read because I either did them on audiobook or I have lost them at one point or another. So here they are!

Pick out the 5 biggest books you have read from your shelves.

  1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows by J.K. Rowling
    Page Count: 759
    I read this sucker in 24 hours because the passion was real.
  2. The New Oxford Annotated Bible
    Page Count: 2,432
    I took a class in my Junior year called Hebrew Scriptures and we read from Genesis to Revelations and the freaking Apocrypha. I still have my copy – it is my one and only Bible. Reading this vital translation is so eye-opening and I highly encourage you do so especially if you’re interested in Christian mythology.
  3. War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
    Page Count: 1,444
    This was a nightmare. This book put me in a nearly 2 year reading slump and to this day I cringe to think of reading classics. I also had to read this for class.
  4. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K Rowling
    Page Count: 870
    This being my least favorite of the Harry Potter books I still sped through it. Now, I will admit that because I was so let down by it the first time I read it it’s the only HP book I’ve never gone to reread. I shall be rereading it again this year and we shall see if I change my feelings towards it.
  5. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
    Page Count: 704
    I read this one for a book club and I ended up really enjoying it. If you enjoy Dracula, the myth and the legend and you’re up for some adult historical fiction you might enjoy this.

 

Pick out 2 4 of the biggest books you have not read from your shelves.

Yeah, 4 is more like it and I have SO many massive books that I decided to buy in order to challenge myself to read larger books. The trick I have found for larger books is to dedicate yourself to them injecting graphic novels while reading them and also to download the audio if available.

  1. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
    Page Count: 821
  2. A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara
    Page Count: 816
  3. 11/22/63 by Stephen King
    Page County: 849
  4. The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
    Page Count: 834

*wipes sweat*

I’m tagging anyone who has not done this tag – and let me know if you do it, I’d love to see what you’ve read or are reading!

Leave a Reply

