Book Review: The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

Title: The Grownup
Author: Gillian Flynn
Published: 2015
Genre: Adult Fiction – Mystery

Synopsis: A canny young woman is struggling to survive by perpetrating various levels of mostly harmless fraud. On a rainy April morning, she is reading auras at Spiritual Palms when Susan Burke walks in. A keen observer of human behavior, our unnamed narrator immediately diagnoses beautiful, rich Susan as an unhappy woman eager to give her lovely life a drama injection.

My Rating: red-starred-starred-star

The Grownup clocks in at 62 pages making this a nice and tidy short-story/novella. I liked this well enough for what it was but not nearly enough for what it could’ve been. This is my first Flynn book and I thought that the first 3/4 of the book were great, nicely paced, good solid characters, intriguing mystery. That ending though was too ambiguous for my likes, I am someone who needs resolution and I felt that you purposefully don’t get it.

The movie rights for this have sold for an obscene amount but I’m actually more excited about the film than the book, I think this acts as a good skeleton to a feature film and will be very enjoyable.

This is 100% an adult novel, our main character gives hand jobs for a living. This is good for readathons which is what I used it for and for between books when you want to get a bit of a refresher.

Leave a Reply

