Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday is Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone! Top 5 Wednesdays were are created by Lainey and moderated by Sam.

“These are books that you enjoyed that aren’t something you typically read. For example, nonfiction if you usually read fiction, contemporary if you usually read fantasy, etc. etc. They do not all have to be from the same genre, just an assortment of books outside your usual genre of choice.”

Let’s go!

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman – This is still in the safe position of my favorite book this year so far. I don’t do sci-fi and I was so afraid of this story but this book not only came in with the sci-fi but it also came in with a weird unexpected format yet I ended up utterly loving it! (have I mentioned that I pre-ordered Gemina?)

Eragorn by Christopher Paolini – high fantasy is just not my thing at all, I need to be rooted some form of reality but after watching the disaster that was the movie adaptation was I picked this up in audio book and I was stunned how engaged I felt and how much I understood. This really spurted me to pick up more fantasy and I am so glad I have.

You by Caroline Kepnes – a 2nd person narrative about a psycho stalker? Totally not my thing yet this book was SO GOOD! To this day I go back and think about it and it’s been months since I read it. It made me want more disturbing books though it feels odd to admit this – hah!

Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman – I’m not keen on non fiction but I read this on a whim and was surprised how much I enjoyed it! This is not a perfect narrative but it’s an honest one and I ended up being truly invested in Kerman’s story.

The Girl in 6E by A.R. Torre – An erotica thriller? So not my thing yet it was… once I got into this story I gobbled up all 3 books and fell in love with Torre’s writing and the entire small world she created. Not only do I want to check out more of Torre’s writing, I want more erotica thrillers!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

Leave a Reply

