Graphic Novel Review: Saga Volume 2 by Brian Vaughan

Title: Saga – Volume 2
Author: Brian K. Vaughan
Art by: Fiona Staples
Published: 2013
Genre: Graphic Novel

Synopsis: When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

My Rating: red-starred-starred-starred-star

Solid second installment! I really do love this series and I love the diverse characters in it. The art is just spectacular, more than I think any movie will ever be able to capture. I love how vast the universe is but how much everyone is interconnected.

I loved Gwendolyn, she was stunning and fierce – a nice addition. I loved that we got to know Marko’s parents and we also got finally got the story on how Marko and Alana met. This installment really showcased what the message is behind this series, it’s all about war and the effects a war has on the people and the soldiers that fight a rich man’s war.

As before the writing is on point, Vaughan just knows how to write dialogue and the art! Second to none, I can’t wait to pick up Vol 3. This is a strange universe, like many graphic novels can be but I urge you to check it out.

Leave a Reply

