Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite FathersFavorite Literary Fathers/Father Figures

 

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins – I said it when I reviewed this book and I’ll say it here again, Lola has the best parents I’ve read in a long time. They are literally my favorite of the whole bunch. Nathan and Andy are dream dads, honestly.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – I’m here for Mr. Bennett as much as for Mr. Darcy. Mr. Bennett who suffers through a house filled with silly people takes refuge in Elizabeth who gets his dry humor and he loves that his daughter thinks for herself rather than prance around focused on a husband. I especially love that pivotal moments when he backs her up when she refuses to marry Mr. Collins.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz – I think Dante’s dad was my favorite but I also really liked Ari’s dad. Both sets are parents were fabulous and I don’t have much bad to say about either.

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin – A.J. falls (stumbles) into life as an adopted parent with relative ease (complete upheaval) and he turns out to be such an amazing father. The little descriptions of the things he does are heartwarming from such a previously broken man.

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton – I wasn’t crazy about this book the way most people are (me and magical realism don’t always jive) but if there was one thing I liked it was Gabe. Gabe truly loved, he was not afraid of showing it and being there for the kids when their mom was just not mentally ready. Gabe was my favorite part of this book.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite FathersFavorite Literary Fathers/Father Figures

Leave a Reply

