The First Chapter Tag! #1

I saw this idea circulating some blogs and booktubers and I thought it was a chance for me to do sporadically to give me a good idea of books that I have sitting on my shelf that I keep putting off. So what I did was select 5 books and I read the first chapter of each book and will post below my first impression of it.

Feel free to try it, let me know if you do, I’d love to hear your thoughts on the pillage of your TBR.

22609310 Confess by Colleen Hoover

I read to page 29 which is where Chapter 1 ended and thus far I’m getting a lot more vibe of ‘Ugly Love’ than ‘Hopeless’ and that for me is a WONDERFUL thing. I think this book will be an excellent palette cleanser and a quick read and I think it’s going to gut me because already the first few pages touched strings.

24441639 The Bees by Laline Paull

I read to page 6 which was the end of Chapter 1 and already I think I love it, I love what it brings to the table because it’s different. A bee story told from the perspective of the bee born into a hive which operates in a sort of dystopian world. I need more and hope to read this one soon because I was already hooked and ready for the next chapter.

18367581 Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

I read to chapter 3 because this book is short-chaptered. So I see Westerfeld is interweaving two stories in one. One is of Darcy who is a young writer and the other one of Lizzie, the character in Darcy’s book. I didn’t feel much for this book so far, pretty generic but there was been a mass shooting at the airport. Not the best thing to read the day of the mass shooting in Orlando where I live. So I think I may leave this for a while just because it hit too close to home.

2088385 The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill

Wow. Just 10 pages in and I can tell this will be a wonderful but heartbreaking story. The first chapter entails our narrator at an old age, she’s survived a lot and she has a matter of fact way about her the way old people do. She’s unimpressed and done with difficulties of life. I think this is the type of book that I would like to give my rapt attention. One that begs for you to take your time with it and give it respect because it’s about to change the way you view things. I’m not going to read it during the Summer but I think this will be a perfect Fall book, one to curl up and dive into the world of 18th century Africa.

19081403 Lux – Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

So this was quite a jarring change from The Book of Negroes. From what I can tell in the first 15 pages this is 100% a YA Paranormal romance. I am not holding that against it. I like that our heroine is a book blogger and I love that she’s from Gainesville where I went to college. Her story sounds like one I’ve heard before in other YA novels, it’s just her and her Mom because Dad passed away. Already we’ve met prince not so charming and it seems to be one of those quick reads that throws romance with paranormal. I will check it out because this could be a good palette cleanser from a heavier literary book.

 

I actually really loved doing this tag! I will do this again in the future as I have over 60 books sitting on my shelf waiting for me to explore 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “The First Chapter Tag! #1

  1. I personally love Afterworlds, it ventures away from the attack and more toward her being changed and that a traumatic event that was required to spark something new. However, I do completely understand not wanting to read it in lieu of the recent attack but it is not a main focus of the story for when you do pick it up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

