Book Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Title: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone  (Book 1)
Author: J.K. Rowling
Published: 1997
Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy

Synopsis: Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts.

My Rating: Red-StarRed-StarRed-StarRed-StarRed-Star

I played with the idea of re-reading the books and I decided to go the route of audiobooks and what a lovely treat it was. I first read this book in 2000 in anticipation of the movie release and I fell in love with the world of Harry Potter. I was already 20 when I read it but nevertheless it touched a spot that is always dormant within in, that magical place of childhood and adventure mixed with possibility.

I read the books as they came out subsequently but I had never done the audiobook and I loved it to bits. This is the shortest of the Harry Potter books as it should be and it still holds that magical charm that to me none of the other books were able to accomplish. This is the happy book – happier than Chamber of Secrets because at least here no student really hurt or in danger.

I love re-reading favorite books because you rediscover things and for me I’m going to make it a goal that every 5 years I should take up the series and re-read them. There’s a still innocence about everyone and I loved it. I finished it in a week which for an audiobook it’s really short because I only to audiobooks while on work commute.

There’s people that still have not read these books and I feel rather sad. Rowlings writes in a very submersible way and it’s 100% enjoyable. I feel you should give them a try and despite this book being very much a ‘children’s book’ as the series progresses it darkens dramatically which only add to my enjoyment.

Five star read when I first read it, still a 5 star read now, 15 years later.

Leave a Reply

