Top Five Wednesday: Summer Reads

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday is Summer Reads and I’m going to try to keep the list as diverse as I can. In case you didn’t know, Top 5 Wednesdays were are created by Lainey and moderated by Sam.

What is a Summer read for me? For me it’s something fast, something I can read in a day or a weekend. Something not too complicated. It can mean a romance, a detective story but it almost always means no heavy fantasy or sci-fi. Nothing too complicated.

The Summer Series by Jenny Han – a young adult contemporary trilogy that follows protagonist Belly and her teen years at her family Summer house. The trilogy begins when Belly turns 16 and blossoms into a beautiful young lady suddenly capturing the attention of the 2 brothers she’s known since childhood. I read each book in a day, they’re not complicated but the first two especially pack an emotional punch.

On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves – if one book embodies what it feels like to be stranded in a beach it’s this one. Now, this is not my favorite book but I know a lot of people have enjoyed it and it really does make you feel that sun in your face sensation. It’s an adult romance book about a May-December relationship and a survival story.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – I have gushed about this book before because I really do love it. A perfect Summer read, We Were Liars is a Young Adult Literary book that follows a family of rich New Englanders (very Kennedy-esque) and their vacation in the island that the patriarch has built for them. This is a short novel, very visual and atmospheric.

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson – this stunning piece is a Young Adult Literary book with LBGT themes. It follows a set of twins told in dual perspective. Noah at age 13 recounts falling in love with a boy and Jude at age 16 trying to piece together what changed between her and Noah. They went from being very close to hardly speaking. I loved this book, it’s like sunshine on your face.

My Life in France by Julia Child – something a bit different but I really do enjoy memoirs. Julia Child recounts her time in France describing with delightful detail food, feels, scents and everything that made the star chef fall in love with the country. If you’re a bit of a foodie like I am, you’ll love this book.

 

BONUS! Top 5 Summer Movies!

Forget the time of superheroes and brain-numbing action sequences. Here’s a quick recommendation for 5 great Summer movies!

 

5 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday: Summer Reads

Leave a Reply

