Tag: Reader Problems Book Tag

Created by About to Read – saw Clemence do it and loved the tag. Because my book-buying compulsion has led me to have reader problems.

1.) You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

Usually I have a pile of books I have selected at the beginning of the month that I would like to get through. Once I finish what I’m currently reading I choose a completely different genre than what I’m reading. If I finished sci-fi I’ll jump to thrillers or contemporary. Always something in the opposite spectrum.

2.) You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or are you committed?

I DNF. I have so many books to read, if it’s a drag I will drop it.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?

I set realistic goals for the Goodreads but if I don’t meet the goals, I don’t. I rather end the year with a few really great books than a bunch of mediocre ones that were easy to finish.

4.) The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?

I really couldn’t give a shit.

5.) Every one and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?  

No, I completely understand that not everyone will like the same books.

6.) You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I put it down until I get home. Listen to 90s rap or something that quells tears.

7.) A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!  

First of all, I dont really read series until they’ve all been published but in this case I would probably reread the book. I did that for Harry Potter – I would re read them to have it fresh in my mind before starting the new one.

8.) Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?  

Reading slumps occur when you’ve over-read yourself into exhaustion or you’re reading the wrong stuff. I find that reading slumps are an indication of a change of your reading tastes. You don’t realize it yet but the books you’ve attempted to read is what you think is your preferred genre but really you might be changing. I also enjoy watching review videos, if someone gets really excited about a book and entices me with the plot it might jump me back into reading.

9.) There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I seldom buy brand new books and my TBR is always too long for me to have this problem. I wait.

10.) After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

I’ve done this – I’ve scrambled to get a book I really want and then it sits for MONTHS on my shelf, I’m so ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

