Tags: Disappointing Books Tag

I’m making a tag and please forgive me if someone has made a tag of this before. If you read this and would like to do it, please do! Tag me in your post/video so I can read about your disappointing books! Note: disappointing books are not books you hate but more books that you thought they were OK and not as fantastic as reviews made them to be.

Let’s get to it. This tag consists of 10 questions and you’re welcomed to answer the same if applicable to the same book!

  1. BOOK(S) WITH A DISAPPOINTING PROTAGONIST
  2. BOOK(S) WITH A DISAPPOINTING LOVE INTEREST
  3. A DISAPPOINTING END TO A TRILOGY/SERIES
  4. A DISAPPOINTING BEGINNING TO A TRILOGY/SERIES
  5. A BOOK YOU WERE ENJOYING UNTIL THE DISAPPOINTING ENDING
  6. AN AUTHOR THAT DISAPPOINTED YOU BY THEIR COMMENTARY ON A LOVED BOOK/SERIES
  7. AN UNREAD BOOK WITH DISAPPOINTING REVIEWS
  8. A GREAT BOOK WITH A DISAPPOINTING COVER
  9. A GREAT BOOK/SERIES WITH A DISAPPOINTING MOVIE/TV SHOW ADAPTATION
  10. AN AUTHOR YOU LOVED BUT WERE DISAPPOINTED BY ONE OF THEIR BOOKS

My Answers:

1 – BOOK(S) WITH A DISAPPOINTING PROTAGONIST

15749186 To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han – I’ve stated before that LauraJean was one of the most annoying contemporary girls I’ve read and she single-handedly made it difficult for me to finish this duology.

2 – BOOK(S) WITH A DISAPPOINTING LOVE INTEREST

9370793 Uglies by Scott Westerfeld – Tally’s love interest David came with homemade clothes and zero personality. Despite enjoying Tally’s view and personality David really didn’t stand up to her in this first book and was a weak-link in my opinion.

3 – A DISAPPOINTING END TO A TRILOGY/SERIES

86663 The slow decline of the Stephanie Plum Novels by Janet Evanovich. I say this because I only got to book 11 when I just realized that Evanovich had no intention of allowing Stephanie to grow as a characters. The books became textbook in execution – Stephanie goes for a bounty, someone tries to kill her, her car blows up, Morelli and Ranger have to help her and she still can’t decide who she loves more. For such a fun read these books started out with true promise and they hit stagnation.

4 – A DISAPPOINTING BEGINNING TO A TRILOGY/SERIES

11235712 Cinder by Marissa Meyer – an OK book but compared to how the series ended this was a weak-link and had I not purchased the other books I think it would’ve taken me a long time to finish them based on this book alone. Looking back I might like it more now that I’ve finished the books but at the time of reading I did not understand the hype.

5 – A BOOK YOU WERE ENJOYING UNTIL THE DISAPPOINTING ENDING

12000020 Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz – I’ve stated this before, I was very much enjoying this book until the last few pages when Ari was not allowed to come to any realization on his own and that really bothered me because it’s told in first person yet we’re left in the dark as a reader as to his true feelings/emotions.

6 – AN AUTHOR THAT DISAPPOINTED YOU BY THEIR COMMENTARY ON A LOVED BOOK/SERIES

harrypotter

GASP AND SACRILEGE!! But yes, years after the books get published Rowling reveals things and comments on her own work that contradict what she wrote. It started with Dumbledore, instead of hinting of his sexuality in the books (which would’ve been GREAT!!) she says this after the fact. Second, my girl has to state that despite writing an entire series in the slow-burn that is Ron/Hermione she says that perhaps Hermione would’ve been better with Harry. *bangheadondesk*

7 – AN UNREAD BOOK WITH DISAPPOINTING REVIEWS

18367581 Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld – it’s looking at me from the shelf but the reviews as mediocre. So I’m rather petrified that I’ll waste my time with another book that will leave me bored.

8 – A GREAT BOOK WITH A DISAPPOINTING COVER

119322 119324

His Dark Materials by Philp Pullman – this entire series needs a cover re-haul because they haven’t managed to come up with a kick-ass cover set without getting the bind-up which I really just don’t like bind-ups, I like the individual books.

9 – A GREAT BOOK/SERIES WITH A DISAPPOINTING MOVIE/TV SHOW ADAPTATION

113436 I would’ve said The Golden Compass but Eragon also has one of the worst movie adaptations. The book is a legitimately entertaining fantasy novel and the movie was watered down to be palatable and bland for American audiences and it’s not wonder that it flopped. I’m hoping that in the future both The Golden Compass and the Inheritance Cycle gets an adaptation worthy of the books.

10 – AN AUTHOR YOU LOVED BUT WERE DISAPPOINTED IN ONE OF THEIR BOOKS

6933876 Changeless by Gail Carriger. In Soulless Carriger scripted such awesome plot and heroine, just a wonderful cast of characters that made it into a page-turner but it drastically changed in Changeless where Carriger’s amazing chemistry between Alexia and Lord Maccon had dribbled down to a shadow of its former self. Pretty disappointing from such a witty writer.

So in all, books I overall enjoyed, not horrible reads at all. Let me know if you’re doing this tag, I’d love to read your answers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

