Top 5 Wednesday: Books You’re Intimidated By

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday is Books You’re Intimidated By and I’m going to pick 5 that were not featured in my Intimidating TBR Tag. In case you didn’t know, Top 5 Wednesdays were are created by Lainey and moderated by Sam.

OK, so to me an intimidating book can either be a complex heavy book, a book on a subject I don’t normally reach for or a book which is so freaking long you honestly wonder if you’ll ever get to it. Here’s the list of mine, feel free to let me know if you’ve read these!

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon – I have the published books but I’m intimidated with these because I know this will be a very long series and we only have 2 books – that just makes me want to wait until we have at least 4 books before I have to sit around waiting for years and I don’t do well waiting for years so I’m holding back from reading it because I am a little overwhelmed by the amount of books Shannon will be adding to this series.

The Final Empire (Mistborn Series) by Brandon Sanderson – I am a little petrified of high fantasy, I’m afraid I wont like it and it will put me in a reading slump yet I’ve heard nothing but awesome things about Mr. Sanderson and I’ve listened to quite a few of his podcasts on writing. I have really enjoyed his perspective so I truly should just read his books if I’m taking advice from the man.

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell – I’ve mentioned this before, classics put me in reading slumps however, this is one of my very favorite mini-series and I adore this entire story so I want to read this book, truly I do because I know if I push through it I will enjoy it.

11/22/63 by Stephen King – I’ve yet to read a King novel because it’s not really a genre I reach for but I decided this was the year I was going to read his work. I think he’s incredibly talented and prolific and I want to know what all the hype is about his writing so I bought this and hoping to take my time with it but eventually finish it so it’s staring at me accusingly on my shelf.

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – I love the idea of a historical novel and I have enjoyed some, recently Burial Rites, but I’m afraid I will dislike this so I’m going to go into this one by dual reading and audio to see if I can get more into the story but later, maybe even next year.

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books You’re Intimidated By

  1. The Mistborn series is one of the few fantasy series I like. Sanderson doesn’t overwhelm you with tons of world-building details (though that’s not to say it’s lacking at all) like most people do, and it’s written in a very accessible language.

    I’ve had All the Light sitting on my shelf for months and haven’t read it. It just doesn’t look enjoyable.

    My Most Intimidating Books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

