Book Review: Changeless (Parasol Protectorate #2) by Gail Carriger

Title: Changeless
Author: Gail Carriger
Published: 2010
Genre: Adult Paranormal

Synopsis: Alexia Maccon, the Lady Woolsey, awakens in the wee hours of the mid-afternoon to find her husband, who should be decently asleep like any normal werewolf, yelling at the top of his lungs. Then he disappears; leaving her to deal with a regiment of supernatural soldiers encamped on her doorstep, a plethora of exorcised ghosts, and an angry Queen Victoria. But Alexia is armed with her trusty parasol, the latest fashions, and an arsenal of biting civility. So even when her investigations take her to Scotland, the backwater of ugly waistcoats, she is prepared: upending werewolf pack dynamics as only the soulless can. She might even find time to track down her wayward husband, if she feels like it.

My Rating: Red-StarRed-Star Red-Star

I am very very sad to report that I did not enjoy this book the way I did the first one (not even close), to the point that it took me twice as long to read as it normally would. I mean, this is not a bad book, but it was just above an OK read. Actually it should be more of a 2.5 star read but I’m giving it a 3 because of Carriger’s clever use of language.

In this book we see Alexia and Lord Maccon married and you would think it would be much more exciting than it was considering the amount of chemistry they had in book 1, the sexual tension I think is what made that first book because this second book suffered from the absence of the male lead for basically the first half. This created an imbalance in the plot and the pace of the story line. Honestly, I was so bored while reading this, so so so bored. I fell asleep, I postponed reading it, I really truly struggled which is sad because Alexia was one of my favorite female protagonists in Book 1 and I now feel I should have left it at that and simply enjoyed Book 1. Not saying that I didn’t like her in this one but I think she alone cannot hold a book up.

We had the addition of a few new characters in this book but none of them had the charisma from Book 1. I felt that the excess amount of scenes, especially when they are ridding the dirigible was overkill and because this was smack in the middle of the book it truly dragged the plot down. We basically dallied around for the whole book until the final chapters when the plot finally exploded. Also, some of the favorites from Book 1 that got POVs were left lacking like Mr. Lydell and Lord Adelaka – also Lord Maccon has no POV which was frustrating because I felt his voice was absent from this book.

Truthfully,  I doubt I will continue the series. I have, however, found a good home for them as my friend has express interest in reading them.

Leave a Reply

