Book Review: I’ll Give Your the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Title: I’ll Give You the Sun
Author: Jandy Nelson
Published: 2014
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Synopsis: Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

My Rating: Red-StarRed-StarRed-StarRed-StarRed-Star

This book is majestic. I mean, I’m so in awe. I’m just so in love with everything. The characters, the writing, the plot, the pacing – it’s all I’ve wanted from contemporary, from dual perspective and from magical realism! It’s all of those 3 star reviews, this quenched my thirst for what I needed out of a novel. So beautiful, the powerful, so delicate, it’s amazing what Jandy Nelson created here and this without doubt, will go in my top books of the year.

I went in knowing this: this story is about twins that once were close and now are not. The past is told by the male twin, Noah and the present is told by Jude the female twin. That’s all I knew but this book is SO MUCH MORE! It’s exactly what magical realism needs to be, it’s so rich and vibrant and complex – the characters are so tangible and deeply flawed. I cannot articulate my love for this book, it’s left me stupefied in the best possible way.

This book will make you laugh, cry, jump for joy and swoon. It’s got it all. I could say a lot about this book but I rather you go in knowing nothing, it’s better this way. If you in any way love art this book will be like candy for you. Do yourself a favor and pick it up, go in with an open mind and enjoy!

This book is excellent for teens as well as adult as adult themes are prevalent in this story.

One thought on “Book Review: I’ll Give Your the Sun by Jandy Nelson

  1. […] I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson is YA Contemporary at its best! Told in dual perspective with magical realism and a literary tone, this book is so wonderful. It touches you as the layers of the story are exposed. I knew as I was reading it that it would be a favorite yet I let a friend borrow it and she did not like it so there must have been something in the writing or the story that really drew me in. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

