Tag: My Intimidating TBR Pile

Jumping on a tag on this lazy Sunday to bring you what can possibly be my ridiculous TBR tag. I’m trying to cut back on my book buying because despite reading an average of 10 books a month I can’t keep up with my purchases, it’s ridiculous! This Tag was created by Lindsey whose videos are amazing and I’ve added a lot of books to my TBR because of her so she’s partially to blame for my lack of self control.

Let’s get to it! Questions…

1) What book have you been unable to finish?

13638125 Vicious by V.E. Schwab. I have started this book TWICE and I get like 30% in and then give up. I think it might be that I’ve been trying via audiobook and I cannot seem to get into the plot, I dislike the characters and nothing about this super-villain world entices me but to be fair I don’t like superhero/villain premises to begin with. I might get the physical book a chance, maybe it’s the narration…

What book have you yet to read because…
2) …you just haven’t had the time?

20170404 Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandell. I started it but was so distracted by other books that I never gave this a chance but I really want to read it so I might pick it up something this year because what I read first I liked a lot.

3) …it’s a sequel?

22698568 The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. I’m stalling because the final book doesn’t come out until October and I don’t want to be months without reading something in this world so I’m not picking it up until June… pathetic excuse, I know.

4) …it’s brand new?

25584230 The Return of the Witch by Paula Brackston. Just released this month and I want to read it but one I refuse to pay full price for a book and two I kinda want to get it in audiobook because I loved it in audiobook last time but I’m genuinely excited about this.

5) …you read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?

13643567 The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. I just did not like the first book and now I have this one and the 3rd one sitting on my shelf…

6) …you’re just not in the mood for it?

25852906 Dreaming of Antigone by Robin Bridges. I have this in ebook format which I dislike but when I read the premise it sounded interesting but I’ve yet to be in the mood for this at all..

7) …it’s humongous?

7728889 The Diviners by Libba Bray. Not only is it a chunker but it’s also part of a series that is far from finished. I mean George R.R. Martin might finish Game of Thrones before this is even close to being completed and I just don’t have the patience to wait this is why I wait for series to be finished before I read them.

8) …because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?

18143772 Under Your Skin by Sabine Durrant. 100% cover buy, it looked spooky and mysterious and I was 100% in the mood for it and then once I got it the mediocre reviews are discouraging.

9) What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?

20893314 A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James. I’m afraid of it, let’s be honest. I’ve read excerpts from it, it looks wonderful but I’m petrified that it will put me in a reading slump but I still want to read it so bad and I will read it before the Summer. That is my own personal promise!

10) Who do you tag?

I’m tagging anyone who would like to do it, feel free to let me know if you’ve done it , I’d love to check out your answers!

One thought on “Tag: My Intimidating TBR Pile

Leave a Reply

