Book Review: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

IMG_1856

Title: P.S. I Still Love You
Author: Jenny Han
Published: 2015
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Synopsis: Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter. She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever. When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

My Rating: Red-StarRed-StarRed-Star

This book suffers from what I’m going to call the ‘no need for a sequel’ syndrome. Honestly, had Jenny Han added one more chapter to “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before” that would have been all this needed. I like Jenny Han as a writer, I really do – as I’ve stated before I loved her Summer series but this duology seemed a bit much. In this novel Peter and Lara Jean reunite but his ex is still in the picture when a video of Peter and Lara Jean’s hot tub makeout session goes viral (very Gossip Girl esque), Lara Jean is mortified especially when Peter doesn’t believe his ex is capable of putting it online. She totally is, by the way. Things get even more complex when one of the boys Lara Jean wrote to comes into the picture, he still has a thing for Lara Jean and always did. Jealousy erupts from both sides and we have a book. There was goo things in this, don’t get me wrong. I actually enjoyed Lara Jean as a character much more in this one, I felt she had matured more than the first book like I’d said before she had been very childish and annoying but she got better here. The real star here is her little sister Kitty who is so well written and you know if Jenny Han wants to give Kitty her own duology I’d be here for that.

Overall? I’m giving this duology to my best friend’s teen daughter, I think she will absolutely love them.

Leave a Reply

