Book Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

IMG_1855

Title: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
Author: Jenny Han
Published: 2014
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Synopsis: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

My Rating: Red-StarRed-StarRed-Star

As it happens, I nearly D-N-Fed this book and it was all because of Lara freaking Jean. Oh, Lara Jean. This is a 16 year old character who has the maturity level of a ten-year old and it was so hard for me to continue reading her after she had her breakdown over the car crash. I understand that Lara Jean is a pampered princess but this girl… oh man, I didn’t want this to turn into a ranting mad woman but it upsets me that this one character took so much out of an otherwise brilliant book. I LOVED the family dynamic, I loved the sisters, the Dad and above all, Peter. Everything else was so rich and real and then there was Lara Jean. So Lara Jean writes letters to all of her crushes and someone mails them out and they all receive them creating chaos in an otherwise bland life. So it happens that one of her crushes is her older sister’s ex-boyfriend and to save herself she makes a pact with Peter, another of the lettered boys, to pretend have a relationship with her to save face. As the book progressed it got better, because the plot itself is delightful and intriguing but still, as I finished it, I was slightly resentful that the main character prevented me from otherwise LOVING this book.

I have read the sequel, more on that later.

I recommend this for teens, I think they would enjoy it much more than I did, actually I think teen girls would gush over this. I’m giving my copy to my friend’s step daughter, age 13 and I think she will love this to pieces so I’ve placed my copy in good hands.

Leave a Reply

