Book Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

IMG_1637 (1)

Title: Illuminae
Author: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Published: 2015
Genre: Young Adult Sci-Fi

Synopsis: The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

My Rating: Red-StarRed-StarRed-StarRed-StarRed-Star

This book is amazing. Amazing. I feel like I run out of words to describe what an (wait for it) AMAZING book this is!

I was intrigued, like most people probably will be, by the strange and new format this book has, it is essentially a case-brief. A few pages in and I was hesitant, afraid this was not my thing, I’m not a sci-fi person in the least. Yet I stuck through it and I am so glad I did because this book (children, advert thy eyes) FUCKED. ME. UP.

Honestly.

felt so much for these characters, I invested my emotions and feelings in them and I still don’t know how on earth Kaufman did that because you would think reading a case brief one would become detached but it’s quite the opposite. We follow the story of an attack on a planet and the 3 ship that escape the planet. In these ships are Kady (in one ship) and Ezra) in the other. The brilliant thing that Kaufman did was that she established feeling – this is a teen couple who broke up the same morning of the attack so the connection is there and this is the story of how they slowly grow closer once more as their world literally falls apart around them. I don’t want to spoil ANYTHING. Just go in knowing that you will become emotionally invested in them and enjoy it.

Might read again because shit, this was good.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

  1. […] Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff was the favorite book of the year contender for 5 months until Uprooted came alone but still, I adore this book. I remember clearly reading it and going through all of the motions because holy emotional roller coaster. It also has one of my favorite characters of the year – AIDAN! This book is part of a series but can be read as a stand-alone. I actually recommend it as a stand-alone. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

